NBCRNA / CPC Overview

~ 0 min
2020-02-20 22:13

Starting August 1, 2016, CRNAs will begin a new recertification process developed by the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA). The Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program consists of four components required each four-year cycle:


Class A Requirements

Class A continuing education credit (CEC) are prior approved, assessed CE. CRNAs will be required to have 60 Class A assessed credits during each four-year CPC cycle. Class A CEC not applied toward the Class A requirement can be applied toward the Class B requirement.


Class B Requirements

Class B credits do not require prior approval or an assessment. CRNAs will be required to have 40 Class B credits during each four-year CPC cycle. Class A CEC can be applied toward the Class B requirement and can be used to fulfill the entire Class B requirement.


Core Modules

Completion of four core modules will be required during each four-year CPC cycle. Modules are optional during the first four-year CPC cycle. Core modules are prior approved, assessed CE and provide Class A credit. Each of the four modules (airway management technique, applied clinical pharmacology, human physiology and pathophysiology, and anesthesia equipment and technology) will include a formal assessment to complete (e.g. multiple-choice questions).


CPC Examination

CRNAs must take the CPC examination every eight years. The first CPC exam (mandatory by 2024 or 2025 depending on recertification cycle) will be used to familiarize CRNAs with the exam content/format and will not impact certification. The second CPC exam (mandatory by 2032 or 2033 depending on recertification cycle) must be passed in order to recertify.


For information about CPC from the AANA click here.


Average rating 0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry